Suburban Pioneers

The Adventures and Misadventures of Homesteading in 21st-Century America

Lauren: Dumpster Diving (Again) April 14, 2014

We were dropping off some trash when I saw it–an enormous rosemary bush. We’re talking huge. I had to have it!

I admit that there is already a rosemary plant in my yard, but you can’t call it a bush because it only has a couple sprigs on it. This perfectly good plant in the dumpster would save me years of growing! Somebody’s trash was my treasure.

We were on our way to a party, so we had to come back and get it. And I made sure that we did.

I don’t have any action shots because it took both of us–one to hold it and the other to get showered with dirt, I mean, cut through the humongous root ball.

rosemary

 

You would think he would look a little more thrilled, wouldn’t you?

 

Here is our new plant in the trunk:

 

 

And here’s the rest of it we left in the dumpster:

 

photo (1)

 

I saw some other good stuff in there, too: a metal shelf, a ladder. . . but Dave said we didn’t need any of that, even if it was free. I tried to get him to go to some other dumpsters for our date night, but he wasn’t having it. I think he just didn’t want any more little scrapes on his hands and arms.

And we planted it. I hope it survives.

DSCN2201

How awesome is that?

I think I’m addicted. I wonder what other treasures the dumpsters are holding for me.

 

Leave a Reply

