Suburban Pioneers

The Adventures and Misadventures of Homesteading in 21st-Century America

Lauren: 3-Day Juice Cleanse April 11, 2014

Filed under: Drinks,Juicing — lkcook20 @ 7:39 pm
Tags: ,
Mean Green Juice (recipe from Joe Cross article)

Mean Green Juice
(recipe from Joe Cross article)

My husband and I are on day 3 of a 3-day juice cleanse. I’m hoping this will kick-start us into juicing daily again and making healthier decisions. Juicing is a great way to get nutrients and to train your body to crave fruits and veggies instead of cookies and cake. I’ve also lost three pounds and that doesn’t hurt either. But we’ll see how long it takes for those to come back. . .

I was really excited to find Joe Cross’s Weekend Juice Cleanse. I loved his documentary Fat, Sick, and Nearly Dead

The movie chronicles his 60-day juice fast, during which he loses 100 pounds, gets off prescription meds, and changes his life. The documentary is what made us buy a juicer in the first place. And his three-day plan is right up my alley. I like that you can have hot water with lemon in the morning. It helped me not to miss coffee. Well, maybe I shouldn’t go that far. . .

Then you drink juice for breakfast, as well as for a mid-morning snack, lunch, mid-afternoon snack, and  pre-dinner. (I skipped the pre-dinner drink. That’s a lot of juice!) And here comes my favorite part. You can eat dinner. Real food. Warm food. That you use your teeth to chew! Granted, the meal consists of fruits and veggies, but I’m telling you, friends, sweet potato fries never tasted so good! Then you end the day with some herbal tea before bed.

I will admit that it is somewhat torturous to feed the kids. Even their unsweetened oatmeal looks good to me. And I made the mistake of reading an Easter book with E. that talks about what different cultures eat for Easter dinner. My mouth is watering just recalling it now. Oh my gosh, he just came out of his quiet time and wants to read it again. Nooooooo!

The kids love to make and drink the juice. They actually do a dance when I say we’re going to make juice. And I have to fight them off when I’m having some for lunch. “Get down, dogs! This is my whole lunch!” (That’s right. Sometimes I call my kids dogs. I think I learned that from my husband.) I never have to do that with that other drink I’ll call “Second Servant.”

don'teatthat

Someone should tell him that’s not an apple

Here’s my favorite breakfast juice recipe:

Ingredients:

3 oranges

3 apples

8 carrots

Directions:

Wash apples. Peel oranges. Peel carrots if they aren’t organic. Place ingredients in a juicer and wait for the magic to happen. Pour over ice, if desired, and enjoy.

DSCN2186

Yield: 2- 16 oz glasses

carrot juice

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

