Suburban Pioneers

The Adventures and Misadventures of Homesteading in 21st-Century America

Sarah: It’s Garden Time! April 24, 2013

Again, Colorado?

Again, Colorado?

My enthusiasm for dirt is brimming up again.  It happens every spring, but I’ve always made do with container gardens at our rental units.  This year is different, though.  This year, we own our own house, and I get a REAL garden, an honest-to-goodness, compost-filled, earthworm-lovin’ garden!

 

Or at least I will get a real garden as soon as Colorado decides it’s done with winter. We’ve had about 16 or 18 inches between the two storms this past week.

IMG_2590

Seed Start Reuse: 1. Poke holes in the bottom of the egg carton for better drainage.
2. Fill with soil.
3. Plant seeds.
4. On nice days, set the tray outside to get sun.

 

 

It snowed for three days straight last week, and I almost climbed the walls after being cooped up for that long.  Our Little Bear, in fact, learned to climb the stairs (out of sheer boredom, I imagine).

 

I shouldn’t complain.  REAL gardeners, after all, rejoice at any winter moisture.  These snows are great for the two grape plants and one cherry tree we planted two weeks ago.  Also, some of you might remember the bad fires here last summer.  Any water now will help our drought and reduce fire risk.

 

Peas!

Peas!

So until the snow melts and our last average frost date comes (that’s May 15th, folks…don’t plant your delicate summer veggies before then), I will content myself with the small garden in the downstairs bedroom where our seed starts are drinking in all the humidity from the diaper laundry that’s hanging out to dry.

 

I’ve been cheering on the different plants as they come up.  The peas are early sprouters, apparently, real overachievers.  I can relate to that. I hope they don’t burn themselves out (I can relate to that, too).  The beets and corn have taken a bit longer, but they seem to be the competitive sort as they’re racing to catch up to the peas.  The tomato shoots are tiny and fragile, but they’re numerous, which is excellent, since it’s entirely possible I will inadvertently kill a few when transplanting.

 

I haven’t seen any sign of the bell peppers or acorn squash, but I’m hoping they are just late bloomers like me.

Also, an excellent reuse for clothespins!  Just label them with a sharpie.

Also, an excellent reuse for clothespins! Just label them with a Sharpie.

When the snow melts, I have big plans for killing my front lawn (see a future post) and working on a few raised beds for the back yard.  In the meantime, I’m hoping the earthworms are holed up cozily somewhere preparing for their big summer job in the garden!

 

2 Responses to “Sarah: It’s Garden Time!”

  1. It is a pity that I didn’t know earlier that in this way it was possible to plant the pea.


Leave a Reply

