Suburban Pioneers

The Adventures and Misadventures of Homesteading in 21st-Century America

Lauren: Basic Homemade Granola January 10, 2013

Filed under: Gardens & Compost — lkcook20 @ 9:08 pm
Tags: , , ,

Cereal is one of the hardest things to find unprocessed and without a million ingredients so I’ve started making homemade granola instead. This recipe is husband approved, which is saying something since I’m pretty sure that whenever I go out of town my hubby eats nothing but cereal and pizza. . . and more cereal. 

 

Ingredients:

6 cups oats

1 cup nuts ( I usually use almonds because they are the cheapest)

3/4 cup oat bran

3/4 cup ground flax seeds

1 tbsp cinnamon

3/4 tsp nutmeg

pinch of salt

1/4 cup olive oil

1 1/2 cups honey (local is best)

 

1. Preheat oven to 300 degrees.

2. Combine all dry ingredients in a bowl.

Image3. Combine honey and oil in separate bowl. Add to dry ingredients. 

4. Spread mixture onto rimmed cookie sheets lined with unbleached parchment paper.

ImageCook for 10-15 minutes and then stir. Cook for 5-10 minutes longer or until lightly browned.

5. Enjoy over milk, yogurt, or just by itself! 

 

It might seem more time consuming  but I’d say it takes me about 10 minutes to make a batch (not including cooking time), which is probably equivalent to the time I spent looking for coupons for name-brand cereals. (One batch lasts us a little less than a week.) And another upside: my husband used to eat three bowls of commercial cereal in morning before work, but now he says just one bowl of my granola fills him up! So I don’t think this ends up costing us too much more.  

 

Leave a Reply

